Tuesday, 9 January 2018

Trump wins ‘Press Oppressor’ award

The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ), a Journalists’ and press freedom campaign organisation based in the U.S., has named President Donald Trump as the winner of its award for ‘Overall Achievement in Undermining Global Press Freedom’.
The CPJ said Trump emerged the overall winner at the award on Monday night in New York after he also emerged ‘Runner-Up’ to President Recep Erdoğan of Turkey, winner of the ‘Most Thin-skinned’ award.
Other awards were ‘Most Outrageous Use of Terror Laws Against the Press’ won also by Erdoğan; ‘Tightest Grip on Media’ – excluded countries with no independent media, such as North Korea and Eritrea -won by President Xi Jinping of China; and ‘Biggest Backslider in Press Freedom’ won by State Counsellor and de facto leader Aung Suu-Kyi of Myanmar.
President AbdelFattah al-Sisi of Egypt emerged ‘Runner-Up’ to Erdoğan for ‘Most Outrageous Use of Terror Laws Against the Press’; President Vladimir Putin of Russia emerged ‘Runner-Up’ for ‘Tightest Grip on Media’ award won by Xi; while President Andrzej Duda of Poland was ‘Runner-Up’ for ‘Biggest Backslider in Press Freedom’ won by Suu-Kyi.
The award was in response to Trump’s fake news awards, which he hinted on Tuesday last week that he would be announcing this week Monday, which he later shifted to Jan. 17.

No comments:

Post a Comment